On your marks!

I wasn’t actually at the start line of the annual North Tyneside 10k – as I didn’t enter it this year…. but at the last minute I decided to take a quick walk down to the fish quay area with my camera and take a few shots instead!

I literally just made it when the lead runners hove into view – grabbed my camera out of it’s bag and began.

The runners were through in less than 20 minutes – I probably wouldn’t stand quite so close to the start next time as it really didn’t give me much of a chance to get many shots. They were coming through thick and fast. Far easier to photograph runners as they approach the end of the run as they are spaced out more.

Most looked pretty good though as they still had ‘fresh legs’ – some even gave me the ‘thumbs up’ or a little wave as they passed.

One “cheeky little devil” – who I shall refer to simply as “John McG” from Ponteland Runners went one step further ….. πŸ™‚ Clearly a little bit giddy at the thought of the steep incline up to Tynemouth Priory that he was about to hit!

DT9C2780

It was great to see so many having fun as they did it – “almost” made me want to sign up for next year …. but so far I have resisted the urge!

I only saw one fella – Kevin – who appeared to have had a bit of a tumble – but seemed to be continuing on regardless – that would have been my cue to pack in to be honest! What a trooper!

DT9C2757

One shot did make me laugh mind – all the runners giving the guy running for “Vegan Runners” a really wide birth! They didn’t seem to want to catch him in a hurry! Too many brussel sprouts perhaps?!

DT9C2725

Hey ho – Feet up until next year! πŸ™‚

 

Is there anybody out there? Would love to hear from you...

