“It’s my Party”….

… “and I’ll cry if I want to” – to quote an old 60’s song….

Well yes, I probably will cry at some point – because I hit the big “Five – O” next week…. I was born on 6 May 1964 to be exact….

I share my birth date with George Clooney (he was born in 1961 though)…. Oooooo If only I could share my birthday with him! Mmmmmm….That might just stop me from crying!

I guess that’s not going to happen however.

So instead, I will be sharing it with a few of my friends and family in Newcastle upon Tyne. A meal and a few drinks at a local restaurant on the 3rd May and again on 11th May – I didn’t want a party.

Plus a trip to The Lake District for a couple of nights to stay in a fancy hotel on Lake Windermere – lots of long walks, pub meals, trips on the Steamer along the lake, relaxing in the hotel leisure pool with my hubby …. Just a generally chillaxing time I think.

There will probably be the odd glass of champagne along the way – and I will obviously be taking my camera with me – perfect!

10 full days away from the office – it will be bliss – not away all of the time though as we need to be back in time to photograph a Charity Football Match that my step-daughter has helped to organise at St James’ Park in aid of Tiny Lives.

It’s a charity that supports premature and sick new-born babies and their families on the Neonatal Unit at the RVI hospital in Newcastle upon Tyne…. So all in a good cause.

I love photographing sporting events – I’ve done the Formula 1 night race in Singapore, The Ashes at Lords, Rugby at Murrayfield in Edinburgh and the Twenty-20 cricket in Barbados.

I’d be lying if I said that I’d managed to get many good photographs at the Twenty-20 cricket in Barbados however….

My husband and I went over for my 46th birthday and sat in the “party stand” – part of the ticket included 10 drinks tickets – which we didn’t manage to take full benefit of – largely because one Bacardi and coke comprised of about 12cm of Bacardi in a glass “topped up” by about 1cm of coke…… it was like paint stripper! Not that I tend to drink paint stripper – but you get my drift… it was strong!

Let’s just say I was a little light headed by the end of the day – had a great time though waving a “4” in one hand an a “6” in the other hand – endlessly repeating (apparently) “This is the best birthday ever”….. and it was…. From what I remember…. Plus I was ‘only’ 46 then!

How's that!

How’s that!

Is there anybody out there? Would love to hear from you...

