I’m going to make an exhibition … (hopefully not of myself!)

 

Image

 

When I realised that this year marks 100 years since the outbreak of WW1 and that the last survivor from the trenches is now dead so there are no more first hand stories to be told, I felt sad.

All those memories and stories lost forever.

It got me thinking that stories from the inter war period shouldn’t end up lost too… And that was the start of my Social History Project…. “Distant Voices”.

An advert in the local Parish News generated a lot of interest from Holy Saviour Church in Tynemouth and I have now secured an exhibition space in Newcastle City Library between 8-13 August to display the images and stories of my “voices”.

Life today is characterised by ‘immediacy’ – Internet shopping, take-away food, mobile phones, Facebook and Social Media to keep in contact with one another.  In stark contrast to the way young people live their lives today, I plan to find out what life was like for those that grew up in the 20’s, 30’s, 40’s and 50’s….. What was school like, rationing, what did they do for entertainment, holidays, jobs and how did they keep in touch with friends and family.

I have never exhibited my work before … So this is something well out of comfort zone… But something that I’m really looking forward to tackling!

In for a penny… It’s better to look back on life and say “I can’t believe I did that” than to look back and say “I wish I’d done that”…..

Watch this space as they say ….. For some previews 

 Safe to say …I’m fairly excited about it… The Queen officially opened the library in 2009… So I’m just wondering if my exhibition could claim to be “by Royal appointment”…. Probably stretching it a bit there though I think!!

Is there anybody out there? Would love to hear from you...

